My back is… well back!

So been away from the blog for a while. Not much to tell…work, life, rinse, repeat, until… we were driving into work (like we usually do) and Jo mentioned that the husband of one of her work friends took up yoga and it completely fixed his back issues… and he managed to get in shape at the same time… so figured what the heck.

Jan 7th, I took my first class as part of a 4 week Yoga Basics class… meant to introduce newbies to Yoga.

I really enjoyed it. It was surprisingly hard and some people likely felt the same as the class dwindled in numbers over the next 4 weeks. I liked it so much that I now go 2x per week (Tuesdays and Sundays). Trying to fit in another session between Tuesday and Sunday. Scheduling is a challenge but more advanced classes are available… not yet brave enough to take on anything higher than Prep (the noob level).

Oddly enough, no back issues since I took up yoga. Guessing the 75 minute focus on core and flexibility makes a difference and since its low/no impact, no real risk of re-injury.

Next session is tomorrow. Looking forward to it. It’ll be my 14th class and I think I got a long way to go to get close to the flexibility that the instructors are showing. They’ve mentioned that its something that takes a long time to develop. Stretching, nose-breathing, planks… also love the peacefulness… its one heck of a get-a-away twice a week and really helps lower the stress level… until I crack open the emails (gotta stop that).

So current stats:

Height: 5’11”

Weight: 207lbs

BMI: 28.9 (overweight)

Caloric requirement to sustain current weight: 2100… daily goal 1600

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

