10lbs and 10 Things I Think I Know

So a week ago I had hit a milestone of 195 lbs. It’s great and I’ve been hanging around 194-195 for a solid week or so. I’ve managed to keep my calories and the type of calories in check. Even in the face of a few dinners out.

I managed to get out running twice last week. I needed new runners and picked up a pair of Nike Zoom Structure Triax+ Running Shoes. Since I’m a sucker for stats, I also picked up the Nike+ SportWatch GPS. A splurge but it does some pretty cool stuff. The band has a built-in USB connection that allows you to upload the run data into the Nike+ website, where you can track your runs, pace, goals, etc. I used to use the Nike+ attachment for the iPod but you need to calibrate the sensor with a set distance while walking and running, which is a pain. The watch has built-in GPS that does that for you and it also displays the route you took on a map along with pace at any point in the run and distance. Pretty slick!

So my wife went to a nutrition session this weekend that her Boot Camp puts on. And she (along with 14 others) have signed on for a 30-day challenge that revolves around eating the right stuff (as defined by one of the trainers). I’m going to do it with her. For a few reasons; one, I want to be supportive and it’s easier when someone else is doing it with you and; two, I want see what it can do in 30 days to help me lose those last 10 pounds. Will it reinforce what I’m currently doing? Will it focus more on fat percentage? We’ll see… I plan on charting it somehow. I think I need to lose 23 lbs of fat (and gain 11 lbs of muscle) to stay at 185 with an 18% fat percentage.

Now on to 10 Things I Think I Know… which pays homage to Peter King, renowned NFL writer who writes for Sports Illustrated.

  1. Bar Vespa is just an overall great place for Italian that the family can enjoy. We went there with the kids on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed dinner. The waitress was great! Food was delicious. I’ll be back!
  2. SportChek needs to do a much better job at staffing their sneaker section, especially the kid’s sneakers. We went to 2 stores on Saturday and same story at both… lots of parents with kids, no sales folks anywhere to be seen (likely avoiding that part of the store) and lots of frustration. I won’t look for kid’s shoes there anymore. I won’t be back.
  3. Making the right choices seems easy… it isn’t. I cannot state how important it is to know your goal, see it written or pictured every day to reinforce what you want to get to. Motivation is EVERYTHING. The mind is a powerful thing. It can help you push through that last set, last mile or last meal… it can also be the thing that tells you to give up or sacrifice. Motivation seems to snap it back into shape.
  4. I like Yoga. More than I thought I would. I also found out that my location is closing in September. I bought 20 more classes to use up (can buy some more later). I am looking for a place to go beyond September and there are some options near home. My wife also planted the idea of trying/joining a Cross Fit class in September. By then I expect my back to be 100%, my cardio to be closer to 5K than Couch and I expect to be at 185lbs or so and maybe 20% body fat. There is a Boot Camp as prep for Cross Fit that starts in May… maybe that should be my goal.
  5. Rick Astley will never do any of the following:
    1. Give you up
    2. Let you down
    3. Run Around
    4. Desert you
    5. Make you cry
    6. Say Goodbye
    7. Tell a lie
    8. Hurt you
  6. The Cincinnati Bengals had a great draft this year. I watched the first 5 picks over 3 days. Glad things worked out with Sanu. Seems fated and I don’t doubt they’ll bring up his Draft Day ordeal in the regular season after his first pro catch. I’ve been a fan since 1984 and it’s been a very, very, very frustrating relationship. I’m psyched about this upcoming season. I think the issues of the past are fading away quickly, that they have a great core of talent. Team focus. Who Dey! I will see them in a Superbowl again (just hoping it’s never against the 49ers).
  7. Things that grow are probably good for you. Things that come in a box probably aren’t as good for you. I should really keep eating more of things that grow and less of things that come in a box. Even though things in a box are really tasty.
  8. I love my job. It’s hard. A lot is expected. I work with great people who work hard. I cannot imagine working at a place that only expects you to bring your “B” game and thinking that’s good enough. Zero chance to suffer mental atrophy. That said…
  9. I need to book more time off. The last 4 trips to somewhere outside North America have been through work, with work people. Need to get somewhere nice with my wife, unplug and enjoy not having a schedule and seeing things I’ve always admired in books or movies.
  10. You need goals. Work goals, life goals, fitness goals and they need to be audacious. At the end (whenever that is), I want to see accomplishments and not dwell on regrets.

Current Stats:

Height: 5’11”

Weight: 194lbs (distance to target is 9 lbs)

BMI: 27.1

Fat %: 24.2 (Target is 18%)

Leave a Reply

