Eating Clean(er)

Not sure if I had mentioned this in previous posts but I LOVE FOOD. All my jobs prior to working in Technology, was working in kitchens. Even after moving away from those jobs and into a career, I always held that love of food. I like trying stuff and then trying to replicate it at home. Sauces, salads, combinations… the whole thing. Typically this takes time and means some research, shopping for groceries and then throwing on some tunes and chopping, dicing, pouring and measuring. LOVED THE PROCESS! But then kids and a busier schedule come into the picture and since you don’t have an overabundance of time, you cut corners and the process gets sacrificed for convenience. More stuff in boxes and jars. And not that I have an issue with it (pasta is great and there are some fantastic sauces out there like RAO’s) but in my case, 10 years of shortcuts added up to too many pounds.

So the mantra from mid-January 2012 onwards has been around caloric deficit and trying to eliminate most processed foods. And it’s worked well… but I kind of stalled out at around 194-193 lbs or so. I think my system was looking to create some sort of equilibrium with body fat percentage and overall weight.

My wife (who goes to a hardcore Boot Camp) is part of a 30 day Eat Clean Challenge that her trainers have put together… I figured I’d try it as well. This challenge takes things a little further with the eating discipline. No dairy, nothing that is made with more than 5 ingredients, no coffee (I don’t drink coffee anyways), no pork, no red meat. Mostly you’re stuck with fresh fruit and vegetables and lean proteins like fish and chicken or turkey. We started a week ago and it seemed to help get over the plateau effect.

What I like about this is that it forces me to get back to the process of cooking creatively and finding interesting stuff to cook. I’ve been using Quinoa, lots of fish and fresh vegetables a lot. Made my own hummus (since it’s easy) and last night we had Buffalo Chicken wraps (minus the blue cheese) that had a recipe posted on SkinnyTaste. It’s a great site and I’ll likely be using it to full effect for some time to come. One week down and 3 more to go before we’re done with the Challenge. I’m planning what to eat as a reward the day after the Challenge is done. Dreams of Butter Chicken, Burgers and nachos dance in my head… washed down with a Coke that comes in a bottle… which will swiftly wreck my innards… oh well!

Preview of next post: Dumo takes on Cross Fit.

Current Stats:

Height: 5’11”

Weight: 191lbs (distance to target is 6 lbs)

BMI: 26.6

Fat %: 23.5 (Target is 18%)

One thought on “Eating Clean(er)

  1. Good work out there. I liked reading every bit of it. Will come back to know more 🙂 When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some bread pudding and would love to heat what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

